Agriculture bills being considered by Washington Legislature

by Staff report
| March 5, 2023 1:00 AM

OLYMPIA — Several agriculture-related bills have been introduced in the 2023 session of the Washington Legislature, which started last week. Topics include fur farming, alternative energy resource impacts and pesticides.

A noncomprehensive list of agriculture-related proposed bills is below. Descriptions below are abridged.

SB 5150

An act increasing the Beef Commission’s levied assessment.

Sponsors: Sharon Shewmake (D- Bellingham).

Substitute SB 5156

Expanding the farm internship program.

Sponsors: Nikki Torres (R-Pasco), Manka Dhingra (D-Redmond), Bob Hasegawa (D-Seattle), Sam Hunt (D-Olympia), Ron Muzzall (R-Whidbey Island), T’wina Nobles (D-Fircrest), Emily Randall (D-Bremerton), Christine Rolfes (D-Bainbridge Island), Mark Schoesler (R-Ritzville), Sharon Shewmake (D- Bellingham), Keith Wagoner (R-Sedro-Woolley), Judy Warnick (R-Moses Lake), Lisa Wellman (D-Mercer Island) and Lynda Wilson (R-Vancouver).

SB 5167

An act eliminating expedited processing of alternative energy resource facilities fueled by solar or wind energy on certain designated lands before the energy facility site evaluation council.

Sponsors: Matt Boehnke (R-Kennewick), Phil Fortunato (R-Auburn), Christine Rolfes (D-Bainbridge Island), Shelly Short (R-Addy), Judy Warnick (R-Moses Lake).

SB 5341

Creating a location-based branding and promotion program for Washington food and agricultural products.

Sponsors: Ron Muzzall (R-Whidbey Island), Sharon Shewmake (D- Bellingham), Kevin Van De Wege (D-Lake Sutherland), Nikki Torres (R-Pasco), Judy Warnick (R-Moses Lake), Patty Kuderer (D-Bellevue), Marko Liias (D-Everett), Derek Stanford (D-Bothell), Claire Wilson (D-Auburn).

SB 5107

Cottage food operations, maximum sales limit for permit, department role.

Sponsors: Sharon Shewmake (D- Bellingham), Noel Frame (D-Seattle), Marko Liias (D-Everett), Joe Nguyen (D-White Center), Emily Randall (D-Bremerton), Christine Rolfes (D-Bainbridge Island), Jesse Salomon (D-Shoreline).

Companion bills HB 1034 and SB 5161

Prohibiting fur farming.

Both bills have multiple sponsors.

HB 1019

Creating the pesticide advisory board.

Sponsors: Tom Dent (R-Moses Lake), Mike Chapman (D), Cindy Ryu (D), Chris Corry (R), Bryan Sandlin (R), Kristine Reeves (D), Larry Springer (D), Joe Schmick (R), Lauren Davis (D).